So, for an example of food to make while you’re doing other stuff, today I am making pot roast in the crock pot. I have all these cookbooks, and I use them for ideas, but rarely really use the recipes. But Make It Fast, Cook It Slow is a good one for crock pot ideas.

My roommate got me some blue potatoes at the farmers market the other day, and I got a hunk of beef (a roast of some kind-the grocery store labeled it as “good for slow cooking!” and that was enough for me. 😛 ) and some veggies and went to town.

So:
1 white onion, handful of blue potatoes, parsnips, celery, mushrooms, garlic, beef broth, Worcestershire sauce, thyme, rosemary, black pepper, salt, chunk of beef.

Slice the white onion, put in bottom of crock pot.
sear the beef in a par with hot olive oil
Chunk up the potatoes, parsnips, celery, and mushrooms if you didn’t get them presliced.
Throw it all in to the crock pot, pour the broth (I made 4 cups of bullion, because I had that already) and a couple glugs of worcestershire sauce. Add in the garlic, pepper, salt, and herbs.
Turn the crock pot on low for 8-10 hours, or high for…. 4? 5? Until the meat is done.

This should keep me in food for four meals.

